24 Comments

An Open Letter to Dan Mullen

Dear Dan,
I’m writing this letter to you for one reason and one reason alone – because you’re not currently within reach for me to give you the manliest hug you’ve ever received.
No seriously. I want to walk right up to you and squeeze any of the remaining Yankee right out of you. I want to pinch your cheek and tell you just how big you’ve gotten, just like all 27 great aunts I never really knew used to do me at my cycle of family reunions.

Mullen pic
Let me recap this here, just in case you’re caught up in the moment like most of us currently are. You took over a football program that had gone 29-65 over the eight years before you arrived. In that span, there was but one, yes ONE, bowl appearance. There were losses to Maine, Tulane, UAB, Troy and Louisiana Tech. Quite frankly, to call what we were a “dumpster fire” would have been the equivalent of deeming Hurricane Katrina a passing summer shower. I was proud to be a Mississippi State Bulldog. I couldn’t have been more embarrassed of the product I was supporting.
Then came a fateful day in December of 2008 when off the plane at Bryan Airport stepped this former Gator offensive guru to save us from eternal futility. Despite another losing record in 2009, something felt different about you. There was a swagger, a confidence. Some called it arrogance. What no one could deny, however, was that times, they were a-changing in Starkville.
After closing out that initial season with your first of three straight Egg Bowl victories (four out of five now, but who’s counting?), you grabbed the microphone and cut a promo that Ric Flair would have been jealous of, proclaiming us as a program on the rise. I would say that even you couldn’t have had the foresight to see just how far up that ladder we could go. But for some reason, I think you did.
See, every year we began to hear a familiar theme. “This team’s goal is to compete for championships,” you’d say. “Our goal is to get to Atlanta,” we heard. Many, maybe even several wearing maroon and white, rolled their eyes. I mean, back to a few bowl games? Sure. But national relevance? Competing for an SEC title? How ‘bout let’s just not lose to schools we never heard of before and give ‘Bama and LSU a scare every now and then. That’s good enough right? Not for you. You never settled. Along the way, you changed our attitudes, too.
Three weeks ago, we were staring down the barrel of another trip to Baton Rouge. Check my Twitter timeline. I knew we were going to win. Against a school we hadn’t beaten in 15 years, in a place we hadn’t won since 1991, I literally had no doubt. Funny thing was, I wasn’t alone. What had once been a fan base mocked for its slogan of “We Believe” had become a group of supporters that could simply proclaim “We Will”. Sure enough, in the heart of Death Valley, the dead rose back to life and proclaimed to a nationwide audience that the Bulldogs’ bark was nowhere near as scary as their bite.
Some wanted to proclaim that win a fluke. You then simply presented those doubters Exhibit B, a Saturday morning thrashing of 6th-ranked Texas A&M. The common theme amongst our fan base during and after that mauling seemed to be “I can’t believe this is happening.” I can’t help but think that on the sidelines, under an Adidas MSU visor and C-Spire headset was a certain head coach thinking two simple words.
“Told ya”.
That brings us to the present. In five days, we play the biggest game in our school’s history. It’s No. 2 Auburn versus No. 3 Mississippi State. It’s the CBS Game of the Week. ESPN College Gameday is in town. Before the madness begins, I plan to make a quick trip to the Junction at some point early this week. I’m just going to stand there a minute and reminisce. I’m going to look up and remember a smaller Davis Wade Stadium with no video boards that are the size of half the Magnolia State themselves. I’m going to think of metal end zone bleachers, or maybe no end zone bleachers. I’m going to picture no East Side upper deck. I’m going to simply travel back through the years. Through the struggles, the Maines, and the expansions.
Finally, I’m going to sit back, raise an ice cold Diet Mountain Dew in the air and offer a toast. A toast to Mississippi State University. A toast to this football program. A toast to every fan that has been right there with me, agonizing and longing for what we have now. And a toast to you, Dan Mullen.
Because you see, when we all gather, cowbells clanging, at 2:30 p.m. on Saturday afternoon, we’re not coming “believing”. We’re coming with all the confidence in the world that we’re putting our feet up Gus Malzahn and company’s backsides and potentially walking away as the No. 1 team in all the land come Sunday.
We have that attitude because you let us. This team, this fan base, has finally after nearly six years become you. That’s why The School Up North loathes us. That’s why the national media and the college football world is paying attention to us. And above all else, that’s why we all know we can take down the Auburn Tigers and continue to shock the college football universe.
Funny thing is, you knew it all along.
Hail State sir,
Joel T. Coleman

24 comments on “An Open Letter to Dan Mullen

  1. LOVE IT WELL SAID

    Like

    • good letter that states truth 2 good wins but its a lot of season left better let it play out and not get too excited LSU is not that good and TEXAS AM may be over rated i hope you defeat Auburn would not surprise me

      Like

  2. I went to the stadium this am just to look. Had some ticket issues that worked out perfect. bought clothes at book store and carried some friends from starkville to lunch then drove back to laurel. I am so proud to be a bull dog. Hail State.

    Like

  3. This letter expresses so well what so very many of us are seeing and feeling. Dan Mullen has brought respect back to our program, our players,and our fan base.
    Thank you so much for this!

    Like

  4. Dude … You rock on BSR, love your show w/ Robbie.

    Like

  5. You capture what we all have tried to say! I read this article toy husband and before I finished he stopped me and asked, “Is that Joel T. Coleman”? Great read! Thanks!

    Like

  6. Could not have said it better. I’ve been at all those games you mentioned, it didn’t change the way I felt about my university. Saturday, sitting in the stadium I turned to a kid who had never been there and I told him, this is special. No turning back, bring on Auburn! Hail State

    Luanne Mashburn

    Like

  7. Great Job!!!! Let us know when you plan on raising that glass so we can join you from around the state , and even into Mobile!!!

    Like

  8. It’s a great day to be a bulldog!

    Like

  9. Ole Miss and it’s fans “loathe” you? Hahaha give me a break. Nothing about MSU is desirable for an Ole Miss fan. Congrats on your recent success.

    Like

    • Loathe – an intense dislike or distaste for something. Your comment verifies that statement even more.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I find it funny that the very people that are constantly stating that they’re better and more sophisticated than those at MSU don’t know the meaning of the word “loathe.” Pick up a copy of “Readers Digest” and do the “Word Power” section every once in a while. It will be beneficial to you.

      Like

  10. I am sure there have been many Bulldogs who have shed a tear of remembrance of how it used to be. This letter defines the sentiment and appreciation owed to you Coach Mullen for giving us hope, joy, and pride in our football program as never evidenced before. We are so blessed to have you as our coach!!!

    Like

  11. Hey Joel! When do you want me to give you that day off from NHB?

    Like

  12. You MSU fans are worse than USM fans concerning your “little man syndrome” when it comes to being envious of Ole Miss. Keep up the good work, though, because you guys are quite entertaining. Oh… and enjoy your beat-down this Saturday… LOL.

    Like

  13. So, Scott doesn’t understand the meaning of “loathe”. He must still be watching reruns of Shark Week on his parents’ DVR, rather than doing his homework. Fins up, Scott, and Hail State!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hail State!

    Like

  15. I rememBer the first football game i attended at MSU in 1987. My son was a freshman. Our team kicked the ball and it went 10 yards. We have come a long way since then. Go DAWGS!

    Like

  16. Joel, you have eloquently put into words what every Bulldog has wanted to say about our Coach Mullen. I so enjoyed this, and as I was reading, I kept repeating “amen”.
    This is truly “our time” and for all you haters and naysayers,well all I have to say is, just hide and watch, THIS IS THE DAY OF THE DAWGS, deal with it!

    Like

  17. Eloquent and classy…funny how “expected” our victory was that we didn’t trash our field and act like a mob of drunken shocked idiots.

    Like

  18. Ole Miss fans feel the same way about what our coach has done for except we aren’t toasting with Diet Mountain Dew.

    Cheers!

    Like

  19. Mr. Coleman – You wrote exactly what so many of us felt. Thank you putting your thoughts into words. The alumni in this home toast you. #hailstate

    Like

Leave a comment