1 Comment

This One’s for the Haters…

For one night guys, I’ve got to let the rivalry die. For just one night, I’m gonna tip my Mississippi State visor to Ole Miss, all while ringing a cowbell and shouting HAIL STATE. For at least a night, this state is the envy of college football. I don’t know who to give credit to for this graphic that was floating around Twitter on Saturday night, but I believe it says it all…

IMG_4812

It’s a great day to be a Bulldog. It’s a great day to be a Rebel. It’s a great day to be a Mississippian. With that said, this post is for the haters. So here it goes.

Here’s to you Danny Kanell. You ESPN broadcaster/analyst/hater. You told Paul Finebaum on his show that the Mississippi schools were just fool’s gold. That was your opinion. You were entitled to it. I even confronted you about it on Twitter following the State and Ole Miss wins. You countered by asking me to tell you when was the last time the West was won in October. No one is asking you to proclaim us the undisputed No. 1 and 2 teams in America Mr. Kanell. I simply figured we could at least garner a shred of respect from someone that watches as much football as you. Guess I was wrong. That’s okay. The proof was in the pudding we all shoved in your face Saturday. We aren’t fool’s gold. But your comments both before the game and since are indeed FOOLish.

Here’s to you Mike Bianchi. You Orlando Sentinel sports commentator/bitter, bitter man. You said in a June article that State and Ole Miss should immediately be removed from the Southeastern Conference, and should be replaced by UCF and USF no less. Pardon me while we all laugh hysterically. Not with you, but at you. You went so far as to call us “dead weight” in the SEC. Aside from such feats as State’s 2013 run to the National Title series in Omaha and the Ole Miss College World Series appearance last year, we’re both a combined 10-0 in the mighty SEC this football season. The SEC West in fact. The division that still hasn’t lost a game to anyone NOT in the SEC West. We’ve combined to beat three top-10 teams. So pardon me if I’m not at all impressed by your precious little UCF Golden Knights and USF Bulls and their combined 4-5 record in the mighty American Athletic Conference (though I’m sure those wins over Bethune-Cookman and Western Carolina were nothing short of breathtaking). Sorry Mike. We belong in the best conference in the land. So get the wad out of your tighty whities and deal with it.

Last, but not least, here’s to you Kevin Scarbinsky You AL.com writer guy/doubter. You said earlier this week in your column that State and Ole Miss were nothing but warts on the elbow of the SEC. You said it was time for us in Mississippi to put up or shut our trap. I’ll give you credit Kevin, of the three guys mentioned here, you are the lone one I’ve seen humbly eat your crow on Twitter. Your show of respect is greatly appreciated. But make no mistake about it. Mississippi didn’t just ante up at the big boy table on Saturday. Both schools went to the table, went all in, took everyone’s money, kicked over the table and said there’s plenty more where that came from.

With all that said, I’m sure more hate will come Mississippi’s way. We’ll probably have to read more of those stories about how us Mississippians are finally getting used to indoor plumbing and coming along quite nicely when it comes to sharing the water fountain with those of a different race. But I say let the Danny Kanells, Mike Bianchis and Kevin Scarbinskys of the world hate. Take pride in the fact that no matter which of the SEC schools you root for in this state, that school is now a 100% bonafide contender for a National Championship.

Make no mistake about this post. I’ll never root for Ole Miss. My perfect world has Mississippi State alone at the top of the college football landscape. But that animosity can be saved for another day. For at least a day, we should all be proud Mississippians. As for everyone else, you better start learning how to spell Mississippi. M-I-crooked letter-crooked letter-I-crooked letter-crooked letter-I-hump back-hump back-I.

Congrats Rebs. HAIL STATE.

One comment on “This One’s for the Haters…

  1. That was an awesome letter I sure hope DAN THE MAN GOT TO read it. I BELIEVE N THE DOGS. ALWAYS HAVE ALWAYS WILL WIN Or not I think everyone now believes and have Faith the players coaches and fans. I have personally known players who were friends that even makes it better. I love my BULLDOGS AND HOPE YOUR LETTER MAKES IT EVERYWHERE Especially to Dan And players

    Like

Leave a comment